NT Government Crest

Northern Territory Auditor‑General's Office

Auditing for Parliament


History of the NTAGO

1978 - 1982

On 5 July 1978, following self government, the Auditor‑General for the Commonwealth of Australia was appointed as the Auditor‑General for the Northern Territory.

A branch of the Commonwealth Audit Office was maintained in Darwin with an average of 16 staff, including 12 professional auditors who were fully engaged in field audits.

Mr Duncan Steele Craik was the Auditor‑General for the Northern Territory from 1978 to 1981, and Mr Keith Frederick Brigden from 1981 until 1982 at which time the first Northern Territory resident Auditor‑General was appointed.

1982 - Current

In 1982 the Northern Territory Government appointed the first resident Auditor‑General, Mr Graham Carpenter. At this time arrangements were established to permit the maximum involvement of private accounting and audit firms in conducting audits of the public sector. This model has remained substantially unchanged to this day.

The resident Auditors-General for the Northern Territory were:


We acknowledge the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people as the traditional Owners, Custodians of Country throughout Australia and their connection to land, seas and community.
We pay our respects to their cultures, and to their Elders past and present.

You will need Adobe Acrobat reader to view some of the publications on this website.
If you do not have Acrobat reader please visit the Adobe site and download the program.